Following Mary’s Death

Even in Mary’s time the response to the needs of the day just grew and grew. Within four years of beginning the work in Penola, Mary had established 40 schools and had 120 other young women join her in the mission.

She had in this time also established three refuges – one for women coming out of prisons, one for the aged and one for orphans.

Twenty years after Mary began there were 169 Josephite communities spread across the colonies of South Australia, Queensland and New South Wales. By then, Mary had also responded to the call to go to the south island of New Zealand.

By the time of Mary’s death the Diocesan Congregation of the Sisters of Saint Joseph founded in Perthville under the direction of Bishop Matthew Quinn had sent communities of Sisters to Whanganui, New Zealand in 1880, to Goulburn in 1882, to Lochinvar in 1883 and to Tasmania in 1887 with a total of over 400 sisters. By this time too there were 750 Central Josephite sisters. Sisters were sent out on mission across Australia and New Zealand. The numbers of sisters increased and foundations were made in Victoria and Western Australia.